Skip to main content

The Federal Division of Clark is situated on the country of the muwinina people of nipaluna.

Clark replaced the Federal Division of Denison during the 2017/18 Australian Electoral Commission redistribution process. Clark is geographically almost identical to Denison and consists of the City of Glenorchy, the City of Hobart and part of the Municipality of Kingborough.

Clark occupies the western shore of the Derwent River, backs onto iconic Mount Wellington/kunanyi and is home to more than 100,000 people. Clark is the geographically smallest of Tasmania’s five electorates, covering only 292 square kilometres and just under 0.4% of the state. Tourism, hospitality, fishing, industry, education, science and research are some of the main economic drivers of the Clark electorate.

Clark is named in honour of Andrew Inglis Clark (1848–1907) in recognition of his contributions to the political and legal systems in Australia, including his central role in Federation and the development of the Australian Constitution.